Therapy session was tough…

This is from my newer blog that chronicles my problem with using alcohol. I drink to hide from my depressive feelings and trying to break the habit is not as easy as I thought.

My Healing Recovery

This is a follow up to my last post regarding being honest about relapsing to my therapist.

Yesterday I had a session with Lynn and, after getting the pleasantries about her vacation and my surgery out of the way, I squirmed uncomfortably on her couch and bluntly said, “I should start by telling you that I started drinking wine again.”

She asked a few questions, the first one, “What day did you have a drink?”

I answered, “May 18th, the last time I saw you before you went on vacation.”

She asked me to tell her about what happened and I dismissively replied, “Who, what, where, when and how don’t matter as much as the why.” She nodded and played along. I say played along because I feel like I was deflecting from the whole truth because I didn’t have the guts to be totally straight forward. I…

View original post 1,427 more words

4 responses to “Therapy session was tough…

  1. Your honesty blows me away. You might not feel like you’re making progress, but you are. You’re an excellent observer of yourself, and most people don’t have your courage.

    Hugs to you and peace to your soul.

  2. southafricanwhitegirl

    Hi! Its me! South African White Girl. Do you remember me?

Would love a reply

