Rested Mind

As I said in my last post I have begun meditating. It’s been 5 days and I already see a remarkable difference. The biggest proof is that I slept through the entire night, 12am – 7am without waking up once. This is atypical behavior for me because my habits of wine and naps typically wreck havoc with my natural sleep cycle.

Early in the week (Sun, Mon, Tue and Wed) I listened to my newly purchased hypnotic CD which is helping to release negative thoughts that have been buried since the day I learned them. But, last night I listened to a different CD called P.M. Yoga Meditations by Gael Chiarella. The narrator’s soothing voice helped me recognize all the events in my day that caused feelings of sadness, joy or judgment. After focusing on my feelings, I released them. This was so relaxing that my sleep was transformed. I don’t recall a dream and I never woke up until morning came.

I haven’t had a drink for 6 days and I skipped my daily nap for the last three days. I’m on to something here. No alcohol/no naps + meditation = a good night’s sleep. And of course, I’m still taking my antidepressants as prescribed.

Now I need to dig deep and see if I can keep this behavior going. β™₯Daylily

7 responses to “Rested Mind

  1. Sounds like a step in the right direction, sleep is so important! I hope you get some great rest and find some peace.

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    OMG what a wonderful post!! Not a drink in 6 days & wonderful, wonderful rest. Lily, I’m so so glad. YES! Can be done! Keep going πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Good on you for not drinking! We all know how drinking impacts health but I seldom relate it with the sleeping cycle! This is such a good tip and warning to those ladies who love clubbing and alcohol but still want to keep their beauty! Maybe next is doing some sports in day time so you will release the depression and stress and be tired enough to go for a natural long sleep at night?
    Support from Sydney πŸ™‚

Would love a reply

