Good news on the sex front

Good news on the sex front, I have had 2 orgasms on the Celexa. When I Initially began Celexa it wrecked havoc on my ability to climax. Try as I might, I couldn’t come. Celexa is “known to cause a decrease in sex drive (known as libido). In clinical studies where side effects of Celexa were documented, a decreased sex drive occurred in up to 3.8 percent of men and 1.3 percent of women taking the drug. Also, 1.1 percent of women taking Celexa reported problems with anorgasmia (inability to achieve orgasm).” 

That was me! The pleasure was there but I was too relaxed to finish. A month and a half later, with the use of external stimulation (vibrating massagers and fantasy) I have been able to bring to completion the pleasure of sexual stimulation. This is progress to be able to tolerate the side effects of an antidepressant that is helping my depression. 

When I can’t finish with an orgasm I get all tense and anxious. I need the “Big O” to feel good about myself. In some ways, it has replaced my need for men and the stupid shit I used to do to get their approval by satisfying them. I know I can give good head and/or please a guy the way he wants, but these days, it’s all about me. I don’t waste my time worrying about not having a guy around to please. No, I get anxious if I can’t please myself—it doesn’t matter if it’s with my husband or through masturbation.

I’ve been with the same man, now married 23 years. He is the best lover I’ve had but in our busy lives, he goes his way and I go mine. Getting together for sex is difficult. We still do, maybe once every couple of weeks, but I try for an orgasm more than that. My husband knows this and I tell him when I get off. I describe in detail so he knows what he missed. Some days, I think he must hear my power massager on high but he leaves me alone for whatever reason. Other times, he’ll join the fun.

My fantasies involve my husband so I don’t have much guilt about masturbating. The most recent event (after a month suffering from anorgasmia) was without him. But, he was in my head and the fantasy was remembering when we were in our twenties and I used to ride him bucking-bronco style for the most amazing orgasm.

I’m not trying to embarrass myself or anyone. I’m just speaking MY TRUTH. The medications for my depression are working with minimally side effects. Today, I happen to only write about the sexual side effects. Next, perhaps I will tackle emotional, intellectual or other areas of the physical realm beside sexual.

4 responses to “Good news on the sex front

  1. Refreshingly honest. I had the same issues when starting celexa but they subsided after a little while. Happy Orgasms!

  2. Excellent post, something many of us never feel like talking about but perhaps something we can relate to!

    • Thanks for the reply. If I want to grow with regard to my sexual healing need to accept that what I’m doing now is natural. Yeah, not many women talk about it but masturbation is normal. I would argue, healthy, too! If I can take care of myself I don’t need to seek out men to feed my ego through my sexuality. I used to do that and for years, I felt like crap the net morning but couldn’t stop.

      Anyway, more of a reply than you expected, I’m sure.

      –Daylily

Would love a reply

