Wellbutrin has brought back my sex drive

For as long as I can remember, the antidepressants (Paxil, Effexor, Lexapro and Pristiq) have reduced my sexual desire.  Some worse than others.  The first time I got on Paxil, which was my introduction into the world of antidepressants, I could not achieve orgasm.  Once I began to feel better because of the medication, I started to complain of lack of orgasm.  I have been blessed with a very satisfying sex life with my husband of 23 years and, hands down, he is the best lover I have ever had.  He can be patient and affectionate or fast and rough, depending on our particular likes and needs at the time.   We mesh like chocolate chips in cookies.  Very delicious together. 

About 8 years ago, I sought out a psychiatrist due to this inability to orgasm.  Let me tell you, that was an interesting intake appointment.    The Paxil was treating my depression so I was confident and sure of myself.  I straight-out told this male doctor, as he leaned back in his big leather chair, I can’t have an orgasm so I need to find a different medication.   He didn’t even flinch or ask more questions.   I guess my statement was straight forward enough.  I began having bi-monthly appointments and Effexor was the magic pill; my ability to complete the sex act was restored. 

The pleasurable ride went on for a good year or two but the many other side effects of Effexor made me, once again, search out a new and improved drug for my depression.  I never found one that restored my sexual health to its original state of easily achieving multiple orgasms with my husband.  Until now.  In walks Wellbutrin.   

My husband woke me up this morning with more on his mind than just a cup of coffee.  My usual response, you know I’m not a morning sex person, was countered with “Well, that’s too bad for you because all of mankind likes it in the morning.”  True enough.  I know the reason I don’t is due to my history of sexual abuse, which, in my childhood, occurred in the wee hours of the night.  But, I’m no longer haunted by that memory because my husband has reprogrammed my body to enjoy his touch.  I opened my mind and other parts to the possibility of morning sex.  It was fabulous. 

I think I’m going to like this drug called Wellbutrin.  And I might also find passion again.  ♥

Would love a reply

